Preservatives in foods containing alcohol


221

Q 2: Most of the foodstuffs here, even bread, include preservatives that contain very small amounts of alcohol. What should a Muslim do in this situation, particularly when alternatives are not readily available?


A: If some foodstuffs or beverages are proved to contain alcohol that actually affects them, it will not be permissible for the Muslim to use, (Part No. 22; Page No. 154) eat, or drink them. Indeed, Allah (Glorified be He) has prohibited Khamr (intoxicant), whether it in large or small quantities. The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: "If a large amount of anything causes intoxication, a small amount of it is Haram (prohibited)." May Allah grant us success. May peace and blessings be upon our Prophet Muhammad, his family, and Companions.




Tags: